Streaming Humanity

So many humans. Do you ever wonder how it is that we can process how many people we walk past every day? We can remember the minute details in the sign we passed and yet we could not recognize the face of the man sitting next to us in a plane for three hours.

Something else occurred to me.

Why is it that we get to ‘know’ the characters and actors we read about and watch every day?

I heard once on a radio show that when we watch movies, tv shows, entertainment, we have the same analysis as if we had invited those people into our home. The first time I realized that, it made me think long and hard about the things I was watching, what I listened to. If someone I knew talked about intimacy with the frivolous noncommittal flounce that I hear on the major secular radio stations, would I choose to hang out with them? Would I spend the same amount of time with them as I would if they had come to talk to me?

IMG_1607

The answer to this speculation was a resounding NO. 

Many of the movies, shows, songs, and even youtubers that I watch I could never spend a significant amount of my time if these people had walked into my home. I would never have invited them into my house. I absolutely would not allow them to talk to or hang out with my siblings, and I would be ashamed if my parents had ever seen them. Why?

Because they are not good people. They do not have good morals. They are not good influences. Yet, these are the people that my siblings spend nearly all of their time with.

If a youtuber likes something or supports a cause, my siblings follow shortly after. In fact, it has come to my attention that my entire family spends more time hanging out with people we would never approve normally inside movies, videos, and music.

I’ve even gotten to the point where I began talking to my dad about possibly blocking youtube from our house. The point is, the things we think about change  who you are. 


 

Let me prove, I pray thee, but this once with the fleece (Judges 6:39).

There are degrees to faith. At one stage of Christian experience we cannot believe unless we have some sign or some great manifestation of feeling. We feel our fleece, like Gideon, and if it is wet we are willing to trust God. This may be true faith, but it is imperfect. It always looks for feeling or some token besides the Word of God. It marks quite an advance in faith when we trust God without feelings. It is blessed to believe without having any emotion.

There is a third stage of faith which even transcends that of Gideon and his fleece. The first phase of faith believes when there are favorable emotions, the second believes when there is the absence of feeling, but this third form of faith believes God and His Word when circumstances, emotions, appearances, people, and human reason all urge to the contrary. Paul exercised this faith in Acts 27:20, 25, “And when neither sun nor stars in many days appeared, and no small tempest lay on us, all hope that we should be saved was then taken away.” Notwithstanding all this Paul said, “Wherefore, sirs, be of good cheer; for I believe God, that it shall be even as it was told me.”

May God give us faith to fully trust His Word though everything else witness the other way.
–C. H. P.

IMG_1625.JPG

When is the time to trust?
Is it when all is calm,
When waves the victor’s palm,
And life is one glad psalm
Of joy and praise?
Nay! but the time to trust
Is when the waves beat high,
When storm clouds fill the sky,
And prayer is one long cry,
O help and save!
When is the time to trust?
Is it when friends are true?
Is it when comforts woo,
And in all we say and do
We meet but praise?
Nay! but the time to trust
Is when we stand alone,
And summer birds have flown,
And every prop is gone,
All else but God.
What is the time to trust?
Is it some future day,
When you have tried your way,
And learned to trust and pray
By bitter woe?
Nay! but the time to trust
Is in this moment’s need,
Poor, broken, bruised reed!
Poor, troubled soul, make speed
To trust thy God.
What is the time to trust?
Is it when hopes beat high,
When sunshine gilds the sky,
And joy and ecstasy
Fill all the heart?
Nay! but the time to trust
Is when our joy is fled,
When sorrow bows the head,
And all is cold and dead,

All else but God.
–Selected


I never realized before how much influence people, things, ideas, have on how I view the world. Recently, I watched the movie Hugo, and in the movie it describes the life of one of the world’s first moviemakers. The moviemakers job was to create dreams. To bring people into a world they had never thought of and lift people up to higher thoughts of places they have never seen or known.

We can use our imaginations in incredible ways. We can also set ourselves up for failure.

Your thoughts impact you. You impact others. Guard your heart, guard your mind and what goes inside it.

Another movie, called Mr. Magoriums Wonder Emporium, and one character says this, “do you see, a sparkle? Like, something small reflecting of something bigger trying to get out.” Molly Mahoney

magorium.jpg

The entire movie follows the life of Molly and her work at the Emporium, but one incredible thing moves throughout the movie. The story of a wooden block. Mr. Magorium tells Molly after she says that it doesn’t do anything, “have you done anything with it? Well, what would you do with a wooden block? She asks. He answers, “You can do a lot of things with a wooden block. But what do you think would happen if once, just once, somebody, believed in it?”

What do we believe in? Do we fill our minds with affirmation, contemplation, or with fear, doubt, aggression?

What if we, just once, Believed? If we Prayed?

What do you put inside your head? Who do you invite into your life through the time you spend with them?

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

