If I Ran…

Psalm 31:1-2

“In you, Lord, I have taken refuge;
    let me never be put to shame;
    deliver me in your righteousness.
Turn your ear to me,
    come quickly to my rescue;
be my rock of refuge,
    a strong fortress to save me.”

Running is odd. In this day and age, we are running from the moment we come into this world. We run ourselves from task to task. Parents are convinced that the only way for their child to be successful is if they begin some sport at age seven. We travel to weekend tournaments and wile away our time running from thing to thing.

In order for us to be anything useful in life we must learn to do a laundry list of things and we run from activity to activity, pilfering ourselves of time with our loved ones. I minds are in a continual breakneck speed as we seek entertainment. When we do not have access to internet, music, movies, or some other form of ready-made amusement, we become bored and never have a need to create our own fun. We have no need to think. We simply run. Because that is “what you do”.

insanity.jpg

As a dancer, I knew several other dancers at my school were on the track team who had run for years. You wanna know that best thing I learned from those runners? I’ll give you a hint. It was not about running. It wasn’t even about endurance or perseverance.

It was about not running. More specifically, resting. You see, pretty much every dancer needs endurance and perseverance. Those lessons we learn about early on. Something we are rarely told, is how to slow down. We run ourselves into the ground, figuratively and literally. When you are in pain, we say, “suck it up, buttercup”. When we are sore, we stretch. Injury means disruption to training, and rest means not training.

That is the philosophy I grew up with. Therefore, the idea of skipping class in order to rest was completely out of question. It’s not until you literally can’t jump when you finally realize something is missing.

I learned the need to rest. Runners, athletes, and dancers, in order to perform at their highest level, must allow time for their muscles to recover from the beating they put on them day after day.

In our lives spiritually, we run. We deal with problems every day, leaning on God and trusting in His path and direction. However, at some point we become worn down. We want to do things our way. We give in to temptation. We get angry, we snap. We ignore or forget about God’s love for us.

Just like a runner, we have to give ourselves time to come back to God’s promises. Because even though we know that God loves us, sometimes believing that truth is the hardest thing in the world.

IMG_1579.JPG

1 Samuel 15:29

“And also the Glory of Israel will not lie or change His mind; for He is not a man that He should change His mind.”

Deuteronomy 7:9

Know therefore that the LORD your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations.”

Psalm 86:15

“But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.”

Some things you can’t outrun. You can’t alway s fix it. For some, its not about fighting, but about knowing when you can’t fight. Some things you can’t fight. In every hobby, activity, or career, there will always be someone better. Someone smarter, someone braver, someone prettier, someone stronger.

Our greatest strength does not show when in danger, but when we know we will lose. When there is no hope, then we find out where our true hope lies.

“My hope is found on nothing less, then Jesus blood, and righteousness.” -Edward Mote

There is no need to run until you’ve got somewhere to go.

“On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand; All other ground is sinking sand.”-Edward Mote

IMG_1545.JPG

Pain’s furnace heat within me quivers,
God’s breath upon the flame doth blow;
And all my heart in anguish shivers
And trembles at the fiery glow;
And yet I whisper, “As God will!”
And in the hottest fire hold still.
He comes and lays my heart, all heated,
On the hard anvil, minded so
Into His own fair shape to beat it
With His great hammer, blow on blow;
And yet I whisper, “As God will!”
And at His heaviest blows hold still.
He takes my softened heart and beats it;
The sparks fly off at every blow;
He turns it o’er and o’er and heats it,
And lets it cool, and makes it glow;
And yet I whisper, “As God will!”
And in His mighty hand hold still.
Why should I murmur? for the sorrow
Thus only longer-lived would be;
The end may come, and will tomorrow,
When God has done His work in me;
So I say trusting, “As God will!”
And, trusting to the end, hold still. 

–Julius Sturm

“I have chosen thee in the furnace of affliction” (Isa. 48:10).

Does not the Word come like a soft shower, assuaging the fury of the flame? Yes, is it not an asbestos armor, against which the heat has no power? Let the affliction come–God has chosen me. Poverty, thou mayest stride in at my door; but God is in the house already, and He has chosen me. Sickness, thou mayest intrude; but I have a balsam ready–God has chosen me. Whatever befall me in this vale of tears, I know that He has chosen me.

Fear not, Christian; Jesus is with thee. In all thy fiery trials, His presence is both thy comfort and safety. He will never leave one whom He has chosen for His own. “Fear not, for I am with thee,” is His sure word of promise to His chosen ones in “the furnace of affliction.”
–C. H. Spurgeon

Be blessed today.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

