When In Pain…

John 16:33

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

The oddest comment I have ever heard came to me today.

spock logic

I went to the physical therapist, otherwise affectionately referred to as the PT. I have been to this particular therapist for several years, getting therapy for my ankle and achilles. The therapist looked at my foot and put me through the exercises we have set for this injury.

After a while, we started chatting about which athletes were best to work with as a therapist. Absolutely the greatest moment was when he said, “well, I have to say, the biggest babies by far are Baseball players!” That made me happy, if even just because at my last school the athletes were always preferred above every department. Though everyone knew we had the worst teams in the region.

Of course, nothing really helped our teams morale all that much. It was just too amazing knowing that the jokes I made about other athletes had some small semblance of truth. I had always known that dancers have incredible pain tolerance, but it wasn’t until today that my thought was confirmed.

happy puppy

His concept was this: Athletes are not used to pain. To them, it means something is wrong  that makes them stop. When they get hurt, it is usually career ending. Dancers, on the hand, live with pain. Everything they do naturally causes pain. They put all of their bodyweight on their big toes as a career.

Anyway, it was the next comment that made me do a double take. He acquitted dancers with the elderly. Saying that both parties learn to live with pain. Pain was not something to be afraid of, it was simply something that, well, happened. 

Pain is normal, expected, even healthy.

The funniest thing in the world to me is the phenomena of helicopter parents. They protect their kids from anything that could possibly cause them pain. Yet, those little things we do as children. When we get scrapes, bruises, we fall, we get up. We begin to understand this incredible pattern that we live all of our lives.

When you fall, you get up.

When you get hurt, your body heals.

One interesting thing, is that even when your body gets hurt, sometimes, you still have not forgiven the one who knocked you down. When that happens, you don’t feel better, even if on the outside you are fine. Life works the same way.

dog lay

Luke 1:76-79

“And you, my child, will be called a prophet of the Most High;
    for you will go on before the Lord to prepare the way for him,
to give his people the knowledge of salvation
    through the forgiveness of their sins,
because of the tender mercy of our God,
    by which the rising sun will come to us from heaven
to shine on those living in darkness
    and in the shadow of death,
to guide our feet into the path of peace.”

Live

Live not of a moment,

Live not of a thought,

Live not of a problem,

Live not of a pain,

Live not as a stranger,

Live not as a foreigner,

Live not as the lost,

Live not as the broken,

Live in the Lord,

Live in the Love,

Live in the Life,

Live in the grace,

Live as the Chosen,

Live as the forgiven,

Live as the found,

Live as the healed,

Live as Yourself.

DSC_6590.JPG


The Bible doesn’t say we may have trials, it says, “in this life, you will face trouble”. We learn, a little bit at a time, how to handle pain. How to handle trouble. We build up our knowledge slowly, over time, like the way you build up a pain tolerance.

In time, we come to know pain, not as something bad, but as something that simply happens. It is something we live with, we grow through, something that we overcome.

Sometimes, we live long stretches of time with trouble. With pain. Maybe, just maybe, that is another sign, of something deeper. Like a wound that disappears on the outside, but on the inside we haven’t forgiven anyone. It’s like a guilt that never disappears.

When you hold on to an old battle scar, it never really heals. Some like to retain battle scars. At the same time, we get frustrated at the pain that lingers with that old scar.

I know I have battle scars, but I also know that I have forgiven those who fought against me.

Be blessed today.

One thought on “When In Pain…

Leave a Reply

