A Fear

Philippians 4:13

“I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

“The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself.” Franklin D. Roosevelt

A lot of things are scary. I watched a TV show where a character was afraid of the dark. My best friend sometimes has fits of paranoia. My biggest fear was having an injury that would end my dancing career. Well, so much for that one.

Some fear death. Others fear spiders. I am deathly afraid of needles. We hear all of these insane words that refer to a phobia of some kind.

Want to know my favorite?

HippopotomonstrosesquiPPedaliophobia.

The fear of long words. It’s real, google it.

Some fears are legitimate. Recently, I saw and heard about a soldier who was hailed as a hero. He and his group, after hours of hunting and fire back and forth between themselves and ISIS, took a mad dash across the length of a football field in the midst of intense fire to save a little girl trapped beneath the dead body of her mother. Pictures came out on CBN showing numerous people strewn across the battlefield, gunned down women, children, elders, handicapped, anyone who got in the way.

Do you want to know what that soldier said when asked how he did it?

God made it possible. God opened a way to save that little girl trapped by ISIS.

“I prayed and felt now or never and that if I died my family would understand that it was to save a little girl.”

“I ran as fast as I could, snatched up the little girl from her mother and the pile of dead bodies, and made it back to the tank. ISIS was shooting all the time but so was the Iraqi tank,” Eubank added.

-CBN News

Later, today I listened to the radio, and during a “Word on the Way” moment, a pastor told the story of this soldier. The radio had acquired a chance to interview and he told them this:

“Whenever I am afraid I always ask God if this is something I should do. I do it every time I make a decision. If the answer is no, than I walk away with a clean conscious. If the answer is yes, than I pray for love. Because perfect love casts out all fear.

The soldier even quoted the verse Philippians 4:13 as the verse he goes to every time he faced fear. Which was a lot.

He said this on social media

“This past weekend our team in Mosul, Iraq, received news of civilians trapped by ISIS and hiding among the bodies of those already massacred by ISIS as they were trying to flee. We’ve shared just some of the photos from the rescues and of those our team met- both living and dead. We prayed and God opened a way that with US smoke and a Iraqi tank the team was able to run behind and rescue two people initially and then seven people the next day, despite having no tank. For more information about those rescues, the situation in Mosul, and for video, please check out the CNN link in profile which includes FBR photos and video footage. #freetheoppressed #iraq#mosul #IDP #ISIS #children” http://www1.cbn.com/cbnnews/us/2017/june/amazing-rescue-ex-us-soldier-says-god-opened-a-way-to-save-girl-trapped-by-isis 

We have a world full of things to fear. Now, more than ever, with terrorists becoming more open and blood-thirsty, we must press into God for direction and guidance. I think what this soldier said is completely correct. We should be looking to God, not just for those heroic moments with big decisions, but in everything. If we do not start small, how will we ever hope to conquer the paralyzing fear that the world has to offer? God gives us decisions for a reason, and we have a choice.

We can choose to rely on our own discretion, or we can rely on God’s will. Even when we could have made a decent decision, is it really best if we want to follow God’s plan for our lives.

We have many chances, we might as well take one. After all, we only get one shot at life.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

