A Small Wonder

Proverbs 22:6

Train up a child in the way he should go,
And when he is old he will not depart from it.”


Hey, time won’t wait
Life goes by
Every day’s a brand new sky
Every tear
Comes to dry
All that really matters in this crazy world
Is you and I together, baby
Just remember

The first leaves off the tree
The way you look at me
A thousand chiming church bells ring
The simple things are free
The sun, the moon, the stars
The beating of two hearts
How I love the simple things
The simple things just are

So here we go
Let’s just dance
Teach my soul to take this chance
Put my heart
In your hands
Out of all the moments that we leave behind
Turn around and tell me baby
We’ll remember

The thunder and the rain
The way you say my name
After all the clouds go by
The simple things remain
The sun, the moon, the stars
The beating of two hearts
How I love the simple things
The simple things just are

Oh, the ocean and the sky
The way we feel tonight
I know that it’s the love that brings
The simple things to life

The sun, the moon, the stars
The beating of two hearts
I love the way the simple things
The simple things just are

I love the way the simple things
The simple things just are
The simple things just are
The simple things
Just are

Simple Things, Jim Brickman


Bubbles. When in huge heaps they look like clouds with pockets. They cannot be grasped but will instead stick together and to everything else. The funny thing about them is how similar they are to other aspects of life. If you attempt to grab them or make them do something very precise, they will move away from you. If you close your hand too quickly they run from you. If you move slowly enough you can get a huge group of them, but when you squeeze too tight they slip from your grasp.

I have been playing with bubbles. Yeah.

It is interesting that, for whatever reason, the only thing I could compare bubbles too were, well children. Don’t they do the same things? If we try to box them in and keep them too ourselves, they turn and run from us. If we keep no grip on them at all, they never grow or change. Even when we try to ‘fix’ them in some way or change them, we have this incredible ability to mold them, but not to sculpt them.

Of course, my opinion is very different from that of, say, a mom. I have never had children of my own. However, I have been around children all my life. When I was age seven, my mother had twins. Although I was not quite competent enough to really help with anything, I did grow up with those two. In addition, I babysat my siblings and other children regularly starting at age ten.

Now, as a young adult, I have already spent three to four years mentoring, training, coaching, and teaching various age groups ranging from four to eighteen years old. As a coach, I encouraged, discipled, led, and kept a general management for my kids. As a teacher, I taught, corrected, disciplined, and loved. As a mentor, I was a friend, a leader, a teacher, a shoulder to cry on, and someone who showed up to explain things when everything made no sense.

12513680_10153924144069939_8227558082405369749_o.jpg

I have been blessed to work with many different kids throughout my short life. A lot of things resulted in my thinking about kids a lot.

We spend a lot of time talking about the “7 Wonders of the World” and other ‘big’ or ‘important’ things in our world. But I have found that the smallest things in my life bring the most joy. Like sitting in a tub and playing with bubbles. When each white bubbles shoots out a rainbow of light. Or the mud swallows that live about our door. Watching the mother tweet her children into taking a daring jump out of safety into the arms of the waiting wind.

Nothing inspires me more than those simple moments.

IMG_1423.JPG

“Some believe it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. It is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love. Why Bilbo Baggins? Perhaps because I am afraid, and he gives me courage.”-J.R.R. Tolkien

hobbit.jpg

We may spend all of our time wishing to tour the world. We may get to do it. But the true inspiration starts at home. In the home, with the Dad who wakes up everyday to bring home a livelihood for his children. The mom who takes care of her kids and teaches them in the way they should go.

Exodus 20:12

“Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you.” 

The sunshine in the window reminds us of the steadfast nature of God’s love. The tempest displays His power. “The heavens declare the glory of God”. We have been given so much, and yet we respect it so little. Or we degrade what we have saying that we must have more, that we are not satisfied.

Last night, at 3:30am as I got up to go to my opening shift. As I opened the garage door and turned around to close it before getting out of my car, I happened to glance up. The sky glittered with the jewels of our night sky that we have named stars. The night was completely dark, living out in the country does that for you, and the sky had no light pollution to see. Millions upon millions of stars strode the heavens that night. I just happened to have woken up and see them.

As the fourth is tomorrow, maybe spend some extra time outside after the fireworks and see the stars.

Be blessed today.

 

Leave a Reply

