A Move

Psalm 150:1-6

“Praise the Lord! Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty heavens! Praise him for his mighty deeds; praise him according to his excellent greatness! Praise him with trumpet sound; praise him with lute and harp! Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe! Praise him with sounding cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals!”

No matter where I end up, I want to be able to take a move. Because no matter what happens, no one can take away your ability to make a choice. Do you ever think about how awesome some of the most difficult things we have are abilities we never think about.

Such as the ability to choose. We must always take responsibility for our actions because ultimately, we are the only one in control of ourself. Even though we can be heavily influenced by others, we make our final decisions. We are the only ones to allow influence upon ourselves. 

Climb every mountain. Weather every storm. It’s all up to us. The problem is everything other than us. So many things influence how we act and how we make decisions. However, the only person how can decide is us.

But do you ever think about how cool it is that we can choose?

From a purely philosophical standpoint, one of the things that makes us living beings, is the ability to make reasoned decisions. But how does that come about? You could say that we are made human by one thing: our ability to speak.

Because at a certain point, every child begins to speak. That moment when a child begins to absorb information and use it at its disposal is what makes us human. No other animal in the world ever begins to absorb language and simulate it for their own use.

Do we ever really think about the simple gifts we have? Speaking. Thinking. Walking. Jumping. Hands. Feet. Brains. The way we operate is so unique and complicated, and yet so perfectly self-functional and operational that we don’t even notice.

I discovered something while in rehab from surgery. You never think about having to re-learn to walk until you’ve done it two or three times. It should be noted that my surgery on my ankle was small and incredibly non-intrusive for a surgery.

Yet, though my surgery was minor, there was still a point in my recovery when I though I would never walk again. I remember staring at people as they walked by, easily, without pain, without braces, with speed and grace, I would then think about how lucky I had been to never need to wince at every step.

IMG_0131.JPG

During those weeks of recovery I had more moments of simple joy than I can remember. I had moments when I simply would watch the water of a pond and be stunned by the beauty and flow of water. Nothing created by humans has ever exhibited the beauty that I can find in a cup of water. In the spray that creates a rainbow inside a hose when watering the garden.

More than anything, I learned a tiny bid of the depression suffered by those who lose the ability to use a limb. Although, unlike many, I was able to regain my mobility at an incredible rate. Told by my athletic trainer during my rehab, she loved rehab cases from surgeries simply because of the undeniable increase in ability and an unprecedented rate of recovery. More than most injuries, surgical rehabs cause such mobility loss that daily rehab allows for massive increase of ability.

Now, as someone who had recently though I would never dance again, which requires more from my body than most daily movements; I found that I always became optimistic in the middle of rehab. I could clearly see the slight increases from the day before. Watching my progress was jubilant, it was also exasperating.

Somehow, I could not bear the thought of possibly never dancing without pain again.

the-fear-of-the-lord

Today, I still am in rehab. But something has changed. I have a deeper appreciation for simple joy. For those little moments when we realize how much we have, even if it’s just the ability to make a move. To make a decision.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

