A Walk

Hebrews 4:15

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are–yet he did not sin.”

When was the last time you took a walk with God?

I don’t know about anyone else, but I have found that the best way to get to know someone is to take a walk with them. Regardless of whether you think of something to talk about, the other person is given a space to speak and ask questions. A walk allows you to relish in the company of someone else. Not get anything, not learn anything specific. But to just hang out and be with another person.

Walks are interesting. They require you to be actively focused on something and passively walking. Combined with the presence of another person, it can be very relaxing, good for your health, and good for relationships.

I have a hard time understanding that God actually wants to hang out with me. I just do not often think about how relational God is. Not only did He die for us and love us unconditionally, He sent His son for the express purpose of understanding what it is to be human.

Why does that matter?

 

What difference does it make that Jesus understood specifically what people go through?

It makes all the difference in the world.

Jesus not only has the power, authority, and perfection of God, but now He understands us. He sympathizes with us. He knows every sin we deal with because He felt it too. 

The big deal about this is that our God wants to have a relationship with you, but He will let you make that choice. All too often we choose meaningless tasks over spending time in the word, we choose to go to the next thing before we stop to pray. There are so many things clamoring for our attention that we have a hard time giving God a second thought.

But I have found that once in a while, you need to clear your head. I need to get out of where everything is happening. Most of the time that involves a change of scenery, I go out of my room, or I goo out with some friends, or maybe I go outside.

However, the best way for me to ground down and get my brain unclogged from all the debauchery of the day, is to go and walk outside. This involves grabbing my Bible and a notebook, my headphones, and sometimes a yoga mat, to go outside. The best thing is, most of the time shoes aren’t required!

 

Going out I have found my favorite spots, some under a particular patch of trees, or in the nook of a building, or even in some chair to do nothing. Because honestly, I seem to have way too many options sometimes. There are too many things I could do, that the choice in itself becomes a tedious task. In these situations, a literal walk where you physically remove yourself from your “problem spots” can make all the difference.

Those places are where we can finally silence our marathon-speed minds, and come to a place of relationship. This is where God speaks. This is when God brings His peace. This is where we get to know our Savior.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

