A Masterpiece

Ephesians 2:10

“For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.”

I was told a story about a young handicapped boy.

The boy one day met a girl who became his first friend. As such, she asked him to different activities. When she asked him to come roller-skating, he told her, “I am not too good on wheels.” But he went anyway.

She told him that no matter what happened when they roller-skate, she would help. Then she asked to see if he would go swimming with her and some youth group friends. He told her, “I don’t know how to swim.” She replied saying that she would help him no matter what.

This went on for a while, she would ask him to go places, he would go, and she would support him. One day, she asked him to come have coffee with her youth group. He did.

At the coffee shop, when everyone had been introduced, the girl asked what everyone’s dream for the future was. Tommy wanted to be an astronaut. Jonathan wanted to work at the FBI. Jane wanted to be a pilot. And so on, until they got to the handicapped boy.

He looked at them all, and said, “I wish my lips were normal so I could talk like everybody else. I want my arm to be straight so that I could use my arms like normal. I wish my hip wasn’t bent so that I could walk like everyone else. And I wish I could live a normal life, to run and shout and laugh like everyone else.”

The boy’s friend looked at him and said, “That’s the silliest thing I have ever heard.”

She took his hand and told him this, “Don’t you realize that God has made you perfect, just the way you are? That you are more unique than anyone else? That God made you with so much focus that only you can do the things you can? You are God’s masterpiece, and you don’t need to be anyone else.”

You are God’s masterpiece.

IMG_1273.JPG

We all seem to want to be someone else. To have their life, their fame, their body, their money, their family. Yet we do not realize our own unique sets of talents. We do not see the specific ways God has set us apart to reach out to others.

You are God’s masterpiece. You are not a mistake, you are not a failure, you are not forgotten. God has uniquely created you to reach those people who have been set in your life to touch.

The storm will continue, the earth will shake. But God is the same forever and ever. He will not forget the purpose He designed you for. Do not fear. Take heart. For I have overcome the world. 

Be blessed today.

 

Leave a Reply

