A Maturity

1 Timothy 4:12

“Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.”

Today was odd.

As a nineteen year old speaker, writer, and dancer, I never thought of myself as mature. However, when I put down any of my accomplishments, I have to stop and realize that most nineteen year olds have never done some of the things I have had the opportunity to participate in.

Needless to say, after slowly helping my two younger brothers and younger sister pack up and get ready to leave the dorm we were staying in for the Championship speech tournament, we set out to drive for 6 hours.IMG_1263.JPG

And yes, I did take this picture barefoot. It was after our 3 hour award ceremony. My feet hurt. Yeah.

Anyway.

After the tournament, we had planned on going to a country inn with (supposedly) an indoor water park in Missouri. We would stay here for a few days. The strange moment was when we checked in to our hotel.

I was animatedly chatting with two different employees working at the counter. One looked at me as I was asking about various prices and shows happening around town. She then asked me how old I was. Normally, I expect this question because people tend to think I look younger than I am.

In response, I said I was nineteen years old. The employee responded by saying I was incredibly mature for my age. My first reaction was actually a question:

Why would a nineteen year old NOT be mature?

I have often been told that I am incredibly mature for my age, but then I always think that, because of my baby face, people are thinking I am a younger age. However, this was not the case. Additionally, I thought I had been acting quite ridiculous, mostly hyper from being stuck in the car for the past 6 hours.

The truth is that I do not believe I am mature for my age. I believe that I have been blessed with an amazing family, and incredible circumstances that have allowed me to become who I am today.

IMG_1307.JPG

And that is the truth. My path has been laid out by my King. The road before me is covered in the clouds of mystery, but I can rest assured. Although my world may be different than most, I know that my God is in control.

The questions I have about how other people respond or live their lives can wait. Today I can live in the path God has set. Whether or not that is in Branson, Missouri, or in New York, I know that I have a purpose. For my God has told me, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” 

The world does not know how to deal with young people who are investing in their own futures. It is not everyday that we see young people take a stand for, well, anything. What we normally see is the ill-prepared, identical, brick like products of our education industry. Because that our education system has become, an industry.

I have met and spoken with teachers who are said to be the best at their jobs. Yet these teachers do not believe in their students. In fact, these teachers will only work or try teaching to the ‘gifted’ students. These are basically the equivalent of honors students. What is wrong with this picture? It results in too many students getting left behind. The addition and lowering of standards in testing and schools have only caused more students to be lost and ignored.

These students have futures that they have not been taught to invest in. This is one of my greatest blessings, I have been given the opportunity to learn how to invest in myself. The first step of that process was to follow not my plan, but God’s road for my life.

So where do we step? Forward.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

