A Trifle

Genesis 2:18

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

It’s amazing how little we matter in the long run. When I think about life, it is usually about how insignificant my impact on the world will be. How we are this simple, tiny microcosm of a world much more incredible than ourselves. How should we respond? Do we accept our insufficiency and live insignificantly, or do we rise to the challenge to make of our place what we will?

We all know, or have heard of, someone famous. Particularly in America, we idolize these people as symbols of success. In order to have an impact, we need to be known everywhere right?

Well, that is a way to make an impact, but perhaps not the best way. 

Gandalf says in The Hobbit that,

Saruman believes it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. I found it is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay… small acts of kindness and love.”

DSC_6748.JPG

Could this be more true?

Somehow, I have this crazy notion that, in order to do anything worth while, you have to be known  or at least seen by a significant number of people.

But now that I am graduated, I have found that the opposite is true. The memories I recall the most easily, the moments that mattered the most, often were quite, alone moments, with few people, and when no one but myself and the other people would ever know about it.

I remember praying before rounds. I remember the times when I turned to an opponent who was nervous and said, “Your gonna kill it”.  I remember comforting my friend after she did not make it into the next round. I remember stopping before every speech to pull my thoughts together, and always, always pray for my judges before entering my room.

I do not remember the awards, the places, the wins, the losses, the records, or the rankings. I remember people.

Do not forget that, at the end of your life, your regrets will never have anything to do with material things. You will not need a few extra moments alone with your car, or shoes. We care substantially more for the relationships in our lives, even if we do not realize it.

We were created to be relational creatures. What was the only thing God saw that was not good? He said, “It is not good for man to be alone”. He did not say anything like, it is not good for man to have no food, or shelter, or rest, but it is not good for man to be what? Alone. 

DSC_6752.JPG

Beware of the temptation to make yourself into an island. You can separate yourself from the love of others, but you cannot separate yourself from the love of God.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

