A Pilgrim

Lamentations 3:25-26  

The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,  to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.”

Today I learned a lot.

I learned that, on long drives, you should not try to sleep with your head on the window. I learned that you never assume that there is a stop sign on a road. Ever. Especially when you accidentally pull out in front of a policeman. Yeah. Long day.

Then I learned that, no matter what, if the timing is correct, God will answer your prayers before you think of them.

I also learned that God can use anything to answer prayers.

For example, when we were driving today, the second day of a two day long quest, it began raining. Actually, that’s a bit of an understatement. It started pouring. It may have been a slight cloudburst.

Actually, it was a torrential downpour. With lightning, wind, and everything that accompanies a flash flood. Of course, I was driving.

Being the crazy human I am, we discovered that I have a strange affinity for storms. This meant two things, that I was having the time of my life, and my mom became increasingly nervous and stressed. This eventually ended with me pulling over on the side of the road in the middle of said torrential downpour and the car pounding with the stress of my mom. I look behind me to see my younger sister rocking forward and backward in an attempt to calm herself down.

It occurred to me in this moment how odd it was that I, the driver, had the least stress and fear of anyone in the vehicle, including my two younger brothers.

The first answer to an unspoken prayer was this: the only person who dealt with storms the best happened to be driving through the worst bit of it. My mother began driving afterward. This is when I began silently praying requests. I prayed for there to be a break in the storm, I prayed for something to give my mom courage and peace for the last leg of the journey, and I prayed for a lowering of the anxiety levels in the car.

Pay close attention, because this next bit happened all within ten seconds. First, I noticed a huge shock of lightning which displayed a small picture in the sky. The picture I saw was a hand, reaching down from the heaven’s toward us. Second, as the thunder shook the car, my little sister spontaneously began praying out loud, asking to protection and help for my mom. Third, my mom, who had been saying,”No, no, not again” suddenly stopped as the clouds broke a little in front of us.

Finally, my little brother, who is famous for his wit, said, “well no one could say we didn’t have an adventure!” Everyone laughed. All three of my prayers had been answered in I the space of a few seconds.

I would say that I haven’t seen prayers answered for me in a long time, but that wouldn’t be true. I just do not notice, or do not expect the answers God gives me. Today, God gave me a clear response to some doubts I’ve had. He let me know that yes, He does answer prayer. Yes, He is faithful. And yes, He can do everything we say we can. The difference is that it all happens on Gods timing. 

We are all on a journey. A pilgrimage. We are headed somewhere. We will not always have the answers. And that’s ok. God works on His own timing. So today, thank Him for the pilgrimage you are on, and praise Him in advance for the lessons you will learn tomorrow. You are not forgotten.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

