A Second

James 1:17

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.”

Hebrews 6:18

“So that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us.”

 

It only takes one second for life to turn around on its head. One moment here, the next, someone gone, something lost, a heart broken. In my case, an diagnosis that could would change my career choice.

When a dancer is told that they need a surgery, they instantly begin dreading the months of rehab and the inexpiable challenge of getting not only back on their feet, but getting back to the barre. Nothing can be more daunting than being told that, no matter what you do, you cannot have a part in your art. During my semester off dance, I came across some writers who talked to me about what it was like having surgery.

IMG_0537.JPG

I explained to the writers that a comparable situation to how I felt was not only being artistically compromised, but also completely losing an outlet for creativity. As I talked, I had been trying to explain how a part of my personality had been severed from my being, that I was no longer whole without dance. Because of this, I had to find other ways of exuding my brain to keep my artistic self from imploding from lack of art.

The ultimate result was that my life was completely changed, in under a second. One second, and nearly three years of rehab and recovery time were squandered as I headed to surgery for an injury from years ago. Again today, I had an ‘under a second’ transition.

Saying out loud one of my deepest fears; that everything I am most passionate about would never sustain me as a career. In addition, many, if not all things I find worth pursuing are dying out and becoming obsolete. Then, my dad said something that had never occurred to me: The written word is dying.

IMG_1123.JPG

Is it sad that this statement makes me cry?

All I do is write. In fact, sometimes things occur to me in such a way that I know I have to write them down or I will obsessed over it for hours. Now I am hearing that one of my most treasured gifts is a waste of time. Without dance, this has become my outlet. A combination of writing critiques, philosophy, and more poems than I can count, as well as sketching, photography, and authoring books have become my go to outlet for thoughts trapped in my brain.

When a writer’s life can be broadcast as easily as we can on blogs nowadays, what is the point?

In The Incredibles, a movie I loved as a kid, the villain makes opportunities for everyone to be superheroes. According to him, “When everybody is super, no one is.” If we can all be writers, we can all report, we can all partake in the news, what is the point of having professional writers, reporters, photographers, editors? But I can’t let it end here. Maybe everything I am passionate about doesn’t matter to this world.

So what?

IMG_1179

The Bible says that God created all things. Including creativity, including art. In fact, God was the most incredible artist to ever live. If writing is going to become similar to other arts and is called ‘obsolete’ by this world, I will continue writing. Because these gifts which are taken lightly by society are treasured by the Giver of all talents. I have talent on loan. I will use it in the way God has gifted me, even when the world tells me it is pointless, that I will never make a living, that I am not worth anything. My Lord values my work, is that not reason to continue in it? I believe it is.

The next time we have that one second shift, remember that God has not shifted. And He never will.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

