A Question

Romans 1:20

“For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature–have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.”

Recently, i have found that I have a natural inclination to questions. I have a list of questions constantly rerunning and appearing in my brain 24/7. The only problem with this is that it means that I am always on the hunt for answers, but I never feel like I have any answers.

The exact philosophy to search for answers, is something that humanity is known for. We discover things, we find facts, we seek truth. The only problem with this philosophy is that if we expect to always search, we never know when we have found answers.

Instead of not having answers, we have simply ignored the answers we have and assume that new ones must be found. The entire post-modern and modern art movement reek of this idea. What we call ‘classical’ art, is no longer the answer. Instead, artists have decided to find ‘new’ or ‘different’ versions of art. However, many of these new modern works purposefully fly in the face of technique, skill, and even beauty, the purpose of art.

Why do we feel that we cannot simply accept the answers given to us?

Perhaps we are ignorant of the answers and still search. But what I think is more likely, is that we are simply ignoring answers, rebelling against God’s plan, and seeking our own answers.

Today, I sat down and wrote a list of all of the questions bouncing around my head. As a college student now looking to transfer, I have multiple things on my mind constantly. But I have questions on every single problem. After I wrote down my questions, I realized that I was looking, not for answers, but for my own path despite God’s answers in my life. It was quite the reality check. Sometimes we just need to be able to see all of the craziness of our minds before understanding what to do with it all.

If you are an artist, allow me to speak on this, don’t ever abandon a project because someone tells you it has already been done. It doesn’t matter if they tell you to cut something off your statue to make it ‘interesting’ or to give it ‘character’. Classic is not bad. At the same time, don’t be scared to venture into new territory, if you have a passion for it, go for it! Take it from an artist who’s done both paths. Classics teach us skills, technique, they are the foundation and layers of knowledge from the past. Once we have acquired those skills, use them to create a unique work of art.

Those works, are truly inspiring. Those are the works made to bless others.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

