An Acknowledgment

Proverbs 6:20-22

“My son, keep your father’s command
    and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.
Bind them always on your heart;
    fasten them around your neck.
 When you walk, they will guide you;
    when you sleep, they will watch over you;
    when you awake, they will speak to you.”

Today I went to a graduation in which the eight graduates (as this was a speech and debate clubs graduation) all explicitly thanked my mother for pouring countless hours into their learning and growth as speakers, mentors, and people. I have to admit, I have watched my mother with amazement as she has spent more time than any of these graduates will ever know on their futures.

My mother is a teacher. She has single-handedly raised and homeschooled eight children. At one point, she was schooling six at one time; and all of us were in different grades and levels. This feat aside, she also runs and coaches a speech and debate club every week during the school year. During nearly every weekend, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings, she would sit down and write emails, plan curriculum, communicate, manage, organize, and run everything included in this club. In addition, she went personally to at least six tournaments a year to support us, her kids who competed, and the other students in her club.

All of this is to say, my mother is quite possibly the most dedicated teacher unknown to most of the world. Today, it was an honor to watch my fellow club members acknowledge and thank her for all her work. Undoubtedly, they not even knowing the full extent of the blessing they have received.

But now it is my turn. Mom, if you read this, know that I love and respect you more than it is possible for me to express. You are the person whom I wish to emulate and be like in the future. Hard-working? There is none who work harder than you. Loving? None can see how deeply you care for your children, friends, club, and the teaching of the next generation. Dedicated? I know the real reason that you stay sick longer than most is because you do not spare yourself for one moment to never let anything go amiss.

Although I seem to talk more than most, I do not say quite as much. I have a hard time telling the people I love how much I care, but I want to tell you how much I respect you. How much I ardently hope for you every happiness as the years go by. I love you, and I wish you strength, love, kindness, and blessings today.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

