A Question

Deuteronomy 31:6

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Have you ever been caught in a situation where you refuse to let yourself do something because of what you think other people are thinking?

Well I have. And I can say that is probably what I am doing right now. Sometimes life gives you lemons. But you don’t make lemonade because those lemons are all you have from life. Instead you just take that sour fruit and eat of it every day even if you could have found or accepted something better.

The entire situation reminds me of a certain woman in the Old Testament. Naomi, the mother-in-law of Ruth, lost everything. Her family was gone. She was living as a foreigner in a land she did not belong to. She believed in a foreign God and followed a religion which was unfamiliar and contrary to everyone where she lived. There was no possible way for her to make a living without becoming a beggar.

Naomi despaired. Wouldn’t you? I have often been told that I need to stop having an emotional meltdown every time something goes wrong. Whenever this happens, I always think, “Well you would do the same in my situation. You don’t know everything. You don’t understand.” Isn’t that exactly what Naomi did? She purposefully pushed people away, her two daughters-in-law, in order to protect them from her fate. She resigned herself to eating only the lemons life had given her.

But that was not the end.

Naomi had Ruth.

There is no bigger wake-up call in life than that one stubborn friend who refuses to let you wallow in self-pity. For me, that friend will just have to be the one and only Comforter. The one who tells me He will never leave me nor forsake me. The Shepherd who leads me by still waters and saves me when I am tangled in briars. Rest in the arms of the Comforter.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

