A Life

Matthew 6:26-30

Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? “So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?”

I was once told a story, a long time ago.

The story went that you were put into a mythical land where you could do anything you wanted. In this land, you had no fear of death, nothing holding you back. What’s more, is that in this world you could go back and redo your life as many times as you wanted until you found something that truly made you happy.

The story begins with you testing the limits, doing the impossible. Making insane choices which you would never make. As you go along and redo your life, you take stranger and stranger paths. You keep doing this so many times that you begin systematically going through every possibility for how you could live your life.

Near the end of this never-ending cycle of do-overs, where you can be anyone, anything, and do anything, you eventually will come across some decisions that are familiar to you.

You see, if we took life and redid it over and over, you would eventually end up with the life you are living now.

Have you ever thought about how blessed  you are? How insane some of your choices have been? If even one slight thing changed, your life could be substantially different than how you are now living?

I love contemplating the perfect path given to me by God. Recently, after a discouraging year that challenged my emotional, physical, and spiritual health, I learned that one of my parents had not thought I should have gone to my school at all. The turmoil this statement caused was enormous.

My brain filled with, “what ifs”, all of the things that could have been better if I had made a different decision a year ago. However, something brought me back to this thought. I can only assume that, by the end of today, the Spirit gave me an inkling of this thought. God is faithful. He never leaves nor forsakes. Do I believe that God will direct my path? Absolutely. But it wasn’t just that statement that led me to this conclusion.

When Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego went into a fiery furnace, they were freed to walk around. God does not free us from suffering, He frees us through sorrow. 

In the end, I must realize that, even if I think my life could have gone better, that does not mean that my life now is not in God’s plan. I love Proverbs 3:6, that says the Lord will make your paths straight, but today, I read the New Living Translation. This reads, “Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” I want to seek the Lord’s path for my life.

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

