A Place

John 14:2-3

“My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

How often do we feel out of place?

For most of my life I have found myself in situations which cause me to rise the the moment. These were moments of discomfort, of fear, and most of all, of not belonging. I realized that the space around me has a greater impact on  me than I had previously thought. I find myself hunting down artwork, quotes, and things made by friends to put around my work space.

My most recent accomplishment is getting approval to have one of my friends sketches from the art departments thirty day challenge. The wall in this picture is covered with the sketches, paintings, and drawing of a few of the art majors. To me, this wall is the most inspirational thing about the building!

IMG_1050

The artists never cease to amaze me. Yet, when I talk to them, the most fascinating thing is when I get to go into their work spaces. Many of the studios are covered with random trash, supplies, and previous works.

I have found something interesting. Many of the artists have to change a significant part of their space for a specific reason. In order to feel like they belong.

Yesterday something weird happened. I sat under a drinking fountain. At my size, the fountains bottom just brushed my head, and I felt a strange sense of peace and giddiness. Something about having a physical space that complimented me perfectly made me feel as if I belonged.

But the amazing thing is, we don’t belong here! For the past few days, I have been stuck on the fact that this broken world is not my home. My residency is with Christ. Take heart! Though we feel out of place, we are simply waiting to go into our perfect place made specifically for us with Christ!

Take heart, dear one, for he has overcome the world!

Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

