A Communitas

1 Chronicles 27:32-34

“Jonathan, David’s uncle, was a counselor, a man of insight and a scribe. Jehiel son of Hakmoni took care of the king’s sons. Ahithophel was the king’s counselor. Hushai the Arkite was the king’s confidant. Ahithophel was succeeded by Jehoiada son of Benaiah and by Abiathar. Joab was the commander of the royal army.”

I have always had a certain fascination for language. Whether it be verbal or non-verbal, the beauty of words and communication continues to astound me. I recently discovered a new word. Communitas. 

Communitas is Latin and originally referred to a social form in which people are all of equal importance, status, and value. It is the idealized form of what society should be. The spirit of society, if you will. Recently I have become more aware of the people I spend my time with. How often do you consider your friend group? Well, I noticed that when I gravitated toward my friends who generally gossip and complain, I become dissatisfied with my life. However, when I started spending time with friends who exhorted me and talked to me about life, I was generally able to deal with my emotions and problems in a more healthy fashion.

I think Christians in particular tend to fall into two extremes. We either think that all of our interactions must be contained, and we separate ourselves from the world. Or Christians decide that they need to be there in the midst of trouble and become drawn into problematic situations of this broken world.

How, then, do we understand God’s command to be the “salt of the earth” and the “light of the world” in Matthew 5? Clearly we need to be interacting with the world. After all, the Great Commission in Matthew 28:19 tells us, “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.” Taking this into account, we must also realize that our inner circle, our power friends, have a massive impact on us. What do we choose?

I would say to follow the example. Think of David. King David in the Bible surrounded himself not only with powerful men, but with men of virtue. My pastor once told me, “you become the average of your three closest friends; be careful who you become.”         -Daniel Rolfe, Paster of Mountain Springs Church

The people around us make us who we are, and the people we become impacts the world.

King David’s Cabinet

Inner circle of men around Dave,
diff-rent experts in kingly en-clave.
One was Hushai his friend*.
All had talent, no end.
And each man knew just how to behave.

http://www.biblelimericks.com/limerick/1-chronicles-2734-king-david-s-cabinet/

Leave a Reply

