A Struggle

1 Chronicles‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭

“Yours, O Lord, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the victory and the majesty, for all that is in the heavens and in the earth is yours. Yours is the kingdom, O Lord, and you are exalted as head above all.”

The shrill whine of an air conditioner. A sharp creaking every other second of a teacher, clicking the key into the locks on their doors and shouldering the reluctant door open. But I don’t mind the noises. Not even the all consuming emptiness of that abandoned hallway. The boxes I sat on were uncomfortable and half full of books no one wanted to read. No one except me. I felt almost like a mother comforting a small child as I opened those books and intently examining each page. Today, I looked at my mirror in my bathroom, earlier this week I had written the words, “it is well.” Today, I erased one word. Sometimes you have to give up your perception of what your “well” should be. You have to simply accept the fact that “it is”, and hand it to the Father waiting so desperately to pick up your life and show you what “well” can really be.

“Do not praise me.

Praise the one Divine being

Who inspired me to desire to paint;

And for wisdom and courage to try,

And the loyal friends and acquaintances

Who have given encouragement and

word support along the way.”

Theora Hamblett

Take a moment. The struggle of today is in your face. Quiet yourself, breathe three times and count to ten. God has got this. You may not see the next step, remember that He has your whole life in His loving hands. Give up the well in your life, the one you keep making your life look like, and let God take the simple breath of “it is”. For only He can teach you  what “it is well” means in your struggle.

Leave a Reply

