A Thought

Have you ever taken the time to sit down and think about how small you are? The planet, the ocean, the stars, the galaxy, are all so vast. What is a mere human in comparison? These thoughts can either bring you down or lift you up. When you realize how small you are you realize how truly big your God is to care for even small details in life. Psalm 23 is one of my favorite passages to quote to myself, and I want to start reflecting on a particular scripture each day. I will write a few thoughts, a small devotion, and give a verse to read through three times and ask God to show me something new through His Word. I invite you to join me as I make a commitment to studying these scriptures. I do not want the Word of God to be an afterthought. So I will be naming this series Afterthoughts. As the day after Easter I think this is something pertinent to my life right now, to be able to think about God’s Word. The scripture I picked for today comes from Psalm 23.

Psalm 23:1-3

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.

How great the Lord is to lead each one of us through life, even beside those quiet waters. Sometimes we have to fight to find those waters in the midst of turbulent storms. Yet how sweet it is to know how close we are to those streams where He longs to lead us! Take a moment to find a quiet place, and let Him refresh your soul. I found that when I pray the simple request, “God, help me to see something you did in my life today”, I find joy in the smallest details. I begin seeing how carefully my days have been set that I may be drawn closer to my Father. Let Him refresh you today. Do not fight for calm, let Him lead you beside the quiet waters in peace.

Leave a Reply

